Crystal Murray - We Love Green

Crystal Murray

Talent doesn’t wait for years, they say. The adage applies particularly to Crystal Murray, for whom music seems innate. At the age of 17, this Parisian singer and songwriter is already at the origin of a most singular universe: bewitching, magnetic, dreamlike, nourished by the multiple influences that have lulled her since she was a child. Born to an Afro-American jazzman father and a Franco-Spanish mother with a background in world music, she grew up in a whirlwind of concerts, tours and festivals – an environment that makes music an essential part of her story. “Soul and jazz were constantly present,” she recalls. But I’m also part of a generation that was lulled by rap and R&B.” The soundtrack to her childhood includes albums by Macy Gray, John Coltrane, Marvin Gaye and Beyoncé, records with which she experienced her first musical emotions and began to sing along. “Until I was nine years old, my dream was clearly to become a singer,” she exclaims with a laugh. “But I ended up putting that aside – I didn’t think I had a very beautiful voice.”

It was at the age of 15, after having refined her artistic desires within a fashion collective founded with three friends, that Crystal Murray returned to this dream as a little girl. The trigger? An improvised studio session in the spring of 2017 with a producer friend who, impressed by her voice and the lyrics she secretly wrote in her notebook, pushed her to take the plunge. “It helped me to accept the voice I’d found too deep for a long time,” she explains. And it encouraged me to take writing more seriously, too.” Things picked up speed in the summer of 2018 when she began working with musician and producer Pierre-Hadrien Trigano, better known as PH Trigano. Together, the two imagined Crystal Murray’s first single “After Ten”. A bewitching and heady song, which recounts a love story in half-tone and lays the foundations of a musical DNA stuck somewhere between jazz, house and soul. “I like to talk about ‘new jazz’,” the young woman comments. To give substance to this track, she joins forces with the duo of directors The Bardos, who have been noticed for their collaborations with the magazines Dazed and i-D. The result is a romantic music video where the singer reveals herself, bright and captivating, alongside her loved ones. Ranked in pole position on Spotify’s “New Talent” and Deezer’s “Découvertes” playlists on its release, “After Ten” establishes Crystal Murray as one of the most promising talents of 2019.

She releases her second single “Princess” in early September, produced by Archil, accompanied by a video clip and a live session. It is with this second track with two-step accents that Crystal begins the stage accompanied by a live band and a DJ. She will play during the fashion week at the Ralph Lauren x Vanity Fair and at the Boule Noire for a Son of Venus evening with DJ Otha.

Crystal Murray - We Love Green

Crystal Murray

Le talent n’attend pas le nombre d’années, dit-on. L’adage s’applique particulièrement au cas de Crystal Murray, chez qui la musique paraît innée. Du haut de ses 17 ans, cette chanteuse et auteure-compositrice parisienne est déjà à l’origine d’un univers des plus singuliers : envoûtant, magnétique, onirique, nourri par les multiples influences qui la bercent depuis toute petite. Née d’un père jazzman afro-américain et d’une mère franco-espagnole évoluant dans les musiques du monde, elle grandit dans un tourbillonnement de concerts, de tournées, de festivals – un environnement qui transforme la musique en une partie essentielle de son histoire. “La soul et le jazz étaient constamment présents, se souvient-elle. Mais je fais aussi partie d’une génération qui a été bercée par le rap et le R&B.” La bande-son de son enfance rassemble donc aussi bien les albums de Macy Gray que ceux de John Coltrane, de Marvin Gaye et de Beyoncé, des disques avec lesquels elle vit ses premiers émois musicaux et commence à pousser la chansonnette. “Jusqu’à mes 9 ans, mon rêve était clairement de devenir chanteuse !”, s’exclame-t-elle dans un rire. “Mais j’ai fini par laisser ça de côté – je trouvais que je n’avais pas une très belle voix.”

C’est à l’âge de 15 ans, après avoir affiné ses envies artistiques au sein d’un collectif de mode fondé avec trois amies, que Crystal Murray renoue avec ce rêve de petite fille. L’élément déclencheur ? Une session improvisée en studio au printemps 2017 avec un ami producteur qui, impressionné par sa voix et les textes qu’elle écrit secrètement dans son carnet, la pousse à se lancer. “Ça m’a aidée à accepter cette voix que j’ai longtemps trouvé trop grave, explique-t-elle. Et ça m’a encouragée à prendre l’écriture plus au sérieux, aussi.” Les choses s’accélèrent à l’été 2018 lorsqu’elle se met à travailler avec le musicien et producteur Pierre-Hadrien Trigano, plus connu sous l’alias PH Trigano. Ensemble, les deux imaginent le premier single de Crystal Murray : “After Ten”. Une ensorcelante et entêtante chanson, qui conte un amour en demi-teinte et pose les bases d’un ADN musical coincé quelque part entre jazz, house et soul. “J’aime bien parler de ‘new jazz’”, commente la jeune femme. Pour donner corps à ce morceau, elle s’allie au duo de réalisateurs The Bardos, remarqué pour leurs collaborations avec les magazines Dazed ou i-D. En résulte un clip à l’ambiance romantique, où la chanteuse se dévoile, lumineuse et captivante, aux côtés de ses proches. Classé en pole position des playlists “New Talent” de Spotify et “Découvertes” de Deezer à sa sortie, “After Ten” impose Crystal Murray comme l’un des talents les plus prometteurs de 2019.

Elle sort son deuxième single « Princess » début septembre, produit par Archil, accompagné d’un clip et d’une live session. C’est avec ce deuxième titre aux accents two steps que Crystal commence la scène accompagnée d’un live band et d’une DJ. Elle jouera pendant la fashion week à l’événement Ralph Lauren x Vanity Fair et à la Boule Noire pour une soirée Fils de Vénus aux côtés de la DJ Otha.